How Becoming Sugar Free Has Changed Me

I feel like a different person since giving up sugar. In fact I am starting to resent how this is the best I’ve felt during my entire adult life; prior to giving up sugar I found most days a bit of a struggle. I would say I was functioning at between 40-60% where 100% is feeling fantastic and 0% is feeling ill and unable to move. 

Now I feel anywhere between 85-95% on most days.  Quite a difference.  Having ‘lost’ all of my twenties and most of my thirties to lethargy, fuzzy mindedness, irritable bowel syndrome and everything that comes with it and an all-round sluggishness that meant I was never bothered to do anything I’m now blessed with this brand new mindset that if there is something to do, I will endeavour to do it.

Reading back on what I have written I realise that’s quite a profound statement to make. Can something as simple as changing your diet really change you as a person?  Since October 2014 when I started on my Sugar Free Journey I have gradually found a new sense of energy and confidence where prior to that I was a passive observer of life.

Having done some research about sugar and how it affects our bodies at a hormonal and cellular level, I’m totally convinced that by eliminating the white stuff I have actively healed my body and mind, and it is now working as it should be.

Over the past 6 months I have set up a local neighbourhood watch group which has meant I have met over 50 local residents, liaised with the local police force and planned and chaired quarterly meetings. In the past I would never have dreamt of being able to do this, struggling to find the confidence even to begin a meeting at work with colleagues I have worked with for years.

In June 2015, I started my LondonHealthMum Twitter page on a whim, during a lunch break at work.

In the past 3 months I have started learning an instrument as a hobby, nothing new for me as I have played various instruments in the past except the instrument I have chosen is the drums – not exactly an easy instrument or an instrument for a shy and retiring type of person.

If there’s a fundraiser or a local event I will help out where I can and I’m the parent at school that initiates the mums nights out or a day off breakfast meet up. I would rarely have even attended anything like this in the past, preferring to stay at home instead.

I have found the process of running the LondonHealthMum Twitter page and since then writing my thoughts, research and findings down in a blog quite therapeutic.  It has been a way of processing, releasing and documenting many thoughts leaving myself valuable headspace. In addition, having a mentally difficult music lesson for an hour every week has given my brain a refreshing workout that couldn’t be more different to all of my other waking hours.

Just to prove that clean eating and being sugar free does make a difference to me on a daily basis, if I do ‘slip up’ or eat less cleanly as usual I very quickly suffer with headaches, stomach aches, lethargy and the first signs of illness so I have learnt to be as strict as I can be as much of the time as possible. But I don’t feel as though I’m denying myself anything… the opposite in fact.  I’m giving myself the ability to be the best I can be, and I love it.

Ideas for Sugar Free Snacks

Sugar Free Tips

Good and Bad Sugars

Food is Fuel

My Sugar Free Journey

Leave a Reply

