Recipe: Tzatziki

I’ve never really written a recipe before but so many people have asked me how I make tzatziki and as it’s so simple and delicious I thought I should share it.

Tzatziki is a really easy, healthy prebiotic and probiotic dip to make.  I use raw organic apple cider vinegar because it has a much milder flavour than malt vinegar and it’s so good for you – the internet is bursting with a million different uses for ACV but I just like to eat it!  Greek yoghurt aids digestion as does mint and the ingredients combined all taste delicious served with an evening meal, or with crudites, crackers, pitta bread… any way you like really. Make sure you buy real Greek yoghurt, not Greek style yoghurt as it just won’t taste the same.

 tz1

Ingredients:

Greek yoghurt – 1 pot

Olive oil – 4 tablespoons

Raw apple cider vinegar – 2 tablespoons

Garlic – between 1 and 3 cloves

Dried mint – 3 tablespoons

Cucumber – 10cm piece

Salt and Pepper – to taste

Method:

Grate the outer part of the cucumber avoiding the seeds. Squeeze all extra liquid out of the grated cucumber and add to the mixing bowl along with the dried mint, salt and pepper.

tz3

Crush the garlic using a garlic crusher and add to the bowl.  I use 2 or 3 cloves of garlic but you may prefer to use just one.

tz6

Add the yoghurt, olive oil and vinegar, and mix together.

tz7

tz9

Enjoy!

My Other Blogs:

My Sugar Free Journey

Sugar Free Snacks

Sugar Free Tips

Good and Bad Sugars

The Sugar Free Diet

Food is Fuel

How Becoming Sugar Free Has Changed Me

My ‘Sugar Free’ Family

Making Time for Food

The Surprising Thing About Sugar

Food, Fat and Feelings

Let’s Not Obsess

Mental Motivation, Fitness and Nutrition

5 Things About Being a Sugar Free Parent

Plan Your Assault on Sugar

Am I Really Sugar Free?

Leave a Reply

